Folke Köbberling & Martin Kaltwasser

White Trash—November 20 to December 18, 2008

Karl-Marx-Straße (Close to the “Saalbau Neukölln” – at street number 141 and the “Karl-Marx-Straße” U-Bahn station)

Foto

Foto

Foto

Foto

Foto

Photos: Uwe Jonas

An SUV (sport utility vehicle) will be reconstructed using light-coloured wood and then parked on the central reservation in Karl-Marx-Straße in Neukölln. Over the course of four weeks, this reconstruction of the huge, tank-like Audi Q7 will occupy a number of parking spots. The exposure to the natural elements will cause the wooden structure to swell up, warp and gradually degrade to become white trash.


This piece by Folke Köbberling and Martin Kaltwasser focuses on the way public spaces have become dominated by selfish drivers and a transport policy that seeks to satisfy these drivers. A measure of this problem is the huge increase in the numbers of SUVs on the roads, despite CO2 and particulate matter pollution issues.

The artists have been dealing with the conditions of urban living in their projects since 2002, and they call upon us to go back to the idea of the city as a resource. By using materials that they have found, they offer a critique of the wastefulness inherent in capitalism.

Folke Köbberling & Martin Kaltwasser

White Trash—20. November bis 18. Dezember 2008

Karl-Marx-Straße (Nähe „Saalbau Neukölln“, Höhe Haus-Nr. 141, U-Bahnhof „Karl-Marx-Straße“)

Foto

Foto

Foto

Foto

Foto

Fotos: Uwe Jonas

Ein aus weißem Holz gebautes SUV („Sport Utility Vehicle“), der „Audi Q7“ – optisch an Panzerfahrzeuge erinnernd – wird auf dem Mittelstreifen der Neuköllner Karl-Marx-Straße platziert. Vier Wochen lang okkupiert das riesige Vehikel dort mehrere Parkplätze. Der Witterung ausgesetzt, wird die hölzerne Skulptur aufquellen, sich verziehen, und allmählich zu „weißem Müll“ degenerieren.

Im Fokus dieser Arbeit von Folke Köbberling und Martin Kaltwasser steht die Okkupation des öffentlichen Raumes durch egomanisches Verkehrsverhalten und entsprechende Verkehrspolitik. Ein Indiz dafür ist die massive Zunahme an SUVs – trotz CO2- und Feinstaubproblematik.

Seit 2002 hinterfragen die Künstler in ihren Projekten die Bedingungen städtischen Lebens und fordern zu einer Wiederaneignung der “Ressource Stadt” auf. Indem sie für ihre Objekte und Installationen gefundene oder nicht mehr für eine Verwertung vorgesehene Materialien verwenden, thematisieren sie die verschwenderische Politik des Kapitalismus.