Participating artists

Etienne Boulanger (Nancy/France)

www.etienneboulanger.com

“I prefer to seek confrontation with public spaces, as this gives my work its social context. (…) The use of active intervention tools such as infiltration, disruption, alienation and scattering is a vital part of my projects. Reclaiming a location and making a location one’s own seems to be an important statement in our society, and as a consequence my interventions often border on being illegal. However, my work does not make any demands and is not militant. Instead, it is the result of an artist taking a stand in an ever-changing environment that he continually has to adapt to.”

Etienne Boulanger

Etienne Boulanger’s subjects include: modern nomadic existences, the individual’s ability to adapt and fit in, and the rapid upheavals in society. In a way, his interventions are acts of resistance which use flexibility and discretion as their weapons. His work is a form of social art which avoids all moral judgement.

Franz Höfner & Harry Sachs (Berlin/Germany)

www.skulpturenpark.org

In their works, Höfner & Sachs play with social and architectural contrasts and contradictions. They combine sociological investigations into the details of everyday existence with an aesthetic approach in which it is hard to differentiate between the authentic and the cliché where one often can’t tell what is real and what is fake. These two Berlin-based artists have been working together since 1998, and have become known for their often large-scale, unusual and ironic spatial installtions and video projects. Their location-specific works deal with the social and cultural contradictions of the given space in a critical and humourous manner.

Folke Köbberling & Martin Kaltwasser (Berlin/Germany)

Folke Köbberling: www.folkekoebberling.de

Martin Kaltwasser: www.superbuero.de

Köbberling & Kaltwasser develop intervention models for urban space by using and working with the existing structures and thus questioning the way we look at urban architecture. They investigate concepts for shared living space as well as the urban living and working patterns dictated to us by capitalism.

Matthias Schamp (Bochum/Germany)

www.der-schamp.de

Matthias Schamp sees himself as someone who guides our attention to particular elements of our surroundings. In doing so, he leads us to re-examine the way we perceive these surroundings, so that we suddenly discover a new aspect of something we previously assumed was familiar. In his work, Matthias Schamp introduces us to new, unconventional spheres of thought. His projects generally involve the active participation of the ‘audience’, and his central themes can be captured by the following questions: How can unusual forms of artistic practice be concieved and realised in public spaces? What forms of communication are possible with a “spontaneous” audience of passers-by for various contemporary arts formats?

Schumacher & Jonas (Berlin/Germany)

www.schumacher-jonas.de

Schumacher & Jonas take a conceptional, context-oriented approach with a focus on societal transformations and trends. Their works in urban public spaces reflect the changes these spaces are undergoing, and the duo’s artistic method generally involves a balancing act between fiction and reality and between political statement and poetic imagination.

Teilnehmende Künstler/innen

Etienne Boulanger (Nancy/F)

www.etienneboulanger.com

“Ich suche bevorzugt die Konfrontation mit dem öffentlichen Raum, die es mir erlaubt, meine Arbeit in die soziale Sphäre einzuschreiben. (…) Der Gebrauch von Aktivismustaktiken wie Infiltration, Störung, Entfremdung und Zerstreuung ist bei der Umsetzung meiner Interventionen unabdingbar. Die Aneignung oder Wiederaneignung eines Ortes gilt in der heutigen Gesellschaft als aussagekräftige Geste, was dazu führt, dass meine Arbeit oft am Rande der Legalität angesiedelt ist. Dabei fordert sie nichts ein, sie ist nicht militant, sondern vor allen Dingen das Resultat einer individuellen Stellungnahme des Künstlers in einer ständig wechselnden Umgebung, an die er sich stets anpassen muss.”

Etienne Boulanger

Nomadentum, die Anpassungsfähigkeit des Individuums und die rasanten Umbrüche in der Gesellschaft beschäftigen Etienne Boulanger. Mit seinen Interventionen leistet er eine Art Widerstand, der mit den Waffen der Flexibilität und Diskretion operiert. Seine Arbeit ist eine Form der sozialen Kunst, die ohne jegliche moralische Bewertung auskommt.

Franz Höfner & Harry Sachs (Berlin/D)

www.skulpturenpark.org

Höfner & Sachs spielen in ihren Arbeiten mit gesellschaftlichen und architektonischen Versatzstücken. Dabei verbinden sie soziologische Forschungen über die Mikrostrukturen des Alltags mit einem ästhetischen Konzept, in dem das Authentische und das Klischee, das Wahre und der Fake oft nicht mehr zu unterscheiden sind. Das Berliner Künstler-Duo, das seit 1998 zusammenarbeitet, machte mit großformatigen, ungewohnten und ironischen Rauminstallationen und Videoarbeiten auf sich aufmerksam. In ihren ortspezifischen Arbeiten reagieren sie auf humorvolle und kritische Weise auf die sozialen und kulturellen Widersprüche der Umgebung.

Folke Köbberling & Martin Kaltwasser (Berlin/D)

Folke Köbberling: www.folkekoebberling.de

Martin Kaltwasser: www.superbuero.de

Köbberling & Kaltwasser entwickeln Interventionsmodelle für den urbanen Raum, indem sie vorhandene Strukturen umnutzen und so den gewohnten Umgang mit städtischer Architektur in Frage stellen. Konzepte von gemeinschaftlichem Zusammenleben werden dabei ebenso befragt wie kapitalistisch bestimmte städtische Strukturen des Wohnens und Arbeitens.

Matthias Schamp (Bochum/D)

www.der-schamp.de

Matthias Schamp versteht sich als Hinweisgeber: Er inszeniert den Blick auf die uns umgebende Welt, um damit Brüche in unserer Wahrnehmung hervorzurufen – im Altvertrauten blitzt plötzlich das Ungeahnte auf. Die Denkräume, in die Matthias Schamp mit seinen Arbeiten verweist, haben nur noch wenig gemein mit den üblichen: Es sind Denkräume, die darüber hinausreichen. In seine Aktionen bezieht er meist das Publikum mit ein, leitende Fragen dabei sind: Wie lassen sich ungewöhnliche Formen künstlerischer Praxis im öffentlichen Raum denken und verwirklichen? Welche Formen der Kommunikation mit einem „spontanen“ Publikum – ausgehend von den Formaten der zeitgenössischen Kunst – sind möglich?

Schumacher & Jonas (Berlin/D)

www.schumacher-jonas.de

Schumacher & Jonas verfolgen einen konzeptuellen, kontextorientierten Ansatz mit dem Fokus auf gesellschaftliche Transformationsphänomene. Ihre Arbeiten im öffentlichen Stadtraum reflektieren den Wandel dieses Raumes, ihre künstlerische Vorgehensweise unternimmt dabei zumeist eine Gratwanderung zwischen Fiktion und Realität, politischem Statement und poetischer Imagination.